NIKE, INC., ET AL. v. KASKY 539 U.S. 654

Subscribe to Cases that cite 539 U.S. 654




CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA No. 02-575. Argued April 23, 2003-Decided June 26, 2003 Certiorari dismissed. Reported below: 27 Cal. 4th 939, 45 P. 3d 243.

Laurence H. Tribe argued the cause for petitioners. With him on the briefs were Thomas C. Goldstein, Amy Howe, Walter Dellinger, David J. Brown, and James N. Penrod.

Solicitor General Olson argued the cause for the United States as amicus curiae urging reversal. With him on the brief were Assistant Attorney General McCallum, Deputy Solicitor General Clement, Jeffrey P. Minear, and Jeffrey A. Lamken.

Paul R. Hoeber argued the cause for respondent. With him on the brief were Alan M. Caplan, Roderick P. Bushnell, Patrick J. Coughlin, Randi Dawn Bandman, Albert H. Meyerhoff, and Sylvia Sum. *

*Briefs of amici curiae urging reversal were filed for ABC Inc. et al. by Bruce E. H. Johnson, P. Cameron DeVore, Kelli L. Sager, Henry S. Hoberman, Theresa A. Chmara, Richard M. Schmidt, Jr., David A. Schulz, R. Bruce Rich, Jonathan Bloom, Susanna M. Lowy, Anthony M. Bongiorno, Harold W Fuson, Jr., Jonathan R. Donnellan, Stuart D. Karle, Barbara W Wall, Jack N. Goodman, James M. Lichtman, Neal A. Jackson, George Freeman, Rene P. Milam, Henry Z. Horbaczewski, Lucy A. Dalglish, Jane E. Kirtley, Bruce W Sanford, Robin Bierstedt, Karlene W Goller, and Eric N. Lieberman; for the American Civil Liberties Union et al. by Mark J. Lopez, Steven R. Shapiro, and Ann Brick; for the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations by Jonathan P. Hiatt, James B. Coppess, and Laurence Gold; for the Arthur W. Page Society et al. by Bruce P. Keller and Michael R. Potenza; for the Association of National Advertising, Inc., et al. by Howard J. Rubin and Cory Greenberg; for the Business Roundtable by Carter G. Phillips, Alan Charles Raul, and Joseph R. Guerra; for the Center for Individual Freedom by Erik S. Jaffe and Renee L. Giachino; for the Center for the Advancement of Capitalism by Thomas A. Bowden; for the Chamber of Commerce of the United States of America by Kenneth W Starr, Richard A.



The writ of certiorari is dismissed as improvidently granted.

Cordray, and Robin S. Conrad; for the Civil Justice Association of California by Fred J. Hiestand; for Defenders of Property Rights et al. by Nancie G. Marzulla and Roger J. Marzulla; for ExxonMobil et al. by David H. Remes; for the National Association of Manufacturers by Andrew L. Frey, Andrew H. Schapiro, Kenneth S. Geller, David M. Gossett, Martin H. Redish, Jan S. Amundson, and Quentin Riegel; for the Pacific Legal Foundation et al. by Deborah J. La Fetra; for Pfizer Inc. by Bert W Rein, Jeffrey B. Kindler, and Steven C. Kany; for the Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc., by Steven G. Brody; for SRiMedia et al. by Thomas H. Clarke, Jr.; for the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression et al. by Robert M. O'Neil and J. Joshua Wheeler; and for the Washington Legal Foundation et al. by Daniel J. Popeo and Richard A. Samp.

Briefs of amici curiae urging affirmance were filed for the State of California et al. by Bill Lockyer, Attorney General of California, Manuel Medeiros, State Solicitor General, Richard M. Frank, Chief Assistant Attorney General, Herschel T. Elkins, Senior Assistant Attorney General, and Ronald A. Reiter, Supervising Deputy Attorney General, and by the Attorneys General for their respective jurisdictions as follows: Gregg D. Renkes of Alaska, Terry Goddard of Arizona, Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut, Charles J. Crist, Jr., of Florida, Lisa Madigan of Illinois, Richard Ieyoub of Louisiana, G. Steven Rowe of Maine, J. Joseph Curran, Jr., of Maryland, Mike Hatch of Minnesota, Patricia A. Madrid of New Mexico, Eliot Spitzer of New York, Wayne Stenehjem of North Dakota, Jim Petro of Ohio, W A. Drew Edmondson of Oklahoma, Anabelle Rodriguez of Puerto Rico, Lawrence E. Long of South Dakota, William H. Sorrell of Vermont, and Darrell V. McGraw, Jr., of West Virginia; for the Campaign Legal Center by Trevor Potter; for the Consumer Attorneys of California by Sharon J. Arkin; for Domini Social Investments LLC et al. by James E. Pfander; for Global Exchange by William Aceves; for the National Association of Consumer Advocates by Robert M. Bramson; for Public Citizen by Alan B. Morrison, Allison M. Zieve, Scott L. Nelson, and David C. Vladeck; for by Brenda Wright, Lisa J. Danetz, John C. Bonifaz, and Bonita Tenneriello; for the Sierra Club et al. by Patrick Gallagher and Thomas McGarity; and for Representative Dennis

William Perry Pendley and Joseph F. Becker filed a brief for the Mountain States Legal Foundation as amicus curiae.

Full Text of Opinion

ChanRobles Legal Resources:

ChanRobles On-Line Bar Review

ChanRobles Internet Bar Review :

ChanRobles MCLE On-line

ChanRobles Lawnet Inc. - ChanRobles MCLE On-line :